Constitutional Council discuss Prof. Hoole’s remarks and Ahimsa’s letter
Posted on June 25th, 2020

Courtesy Adaderana

The 80th meeting of the Constitutional Council was held yesterday (24) under the patronage of its Chairman Karu Jayasuriya at the Speaker’s official residence. 

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, along with the members of the Constitutional Council, Bimal Ratnayake and Thalatha Athukora attended the meeting. 

In addition, civil society representatives Javed Yousuf and Prof. Naganathan Selvakumaran, Secretary-General to the Constitutional Council and Secretary-General of the Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake as well as the Deputy Secretary General of Parliament Neil Iddawala were also present at the meeting.

Dr. Rani Jayamaha and Samantha Kumarasinghe who were nominated by the President Gotabaya Rajapaksha, to the Central Bank’s Monetary Board given the   vacant position created due to the resignation of Nihal Fonseka and Dushni Weerakoon, were discussed and approved unanimously by the Constitutional Council. 

The chairman of the Constitutional Council informed its members regarding the resignation of the former member Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala and commended him for his excellent service rendered to the Constitutional Council.

The Chairman of the Constitutional Council informed the members that actions would be taken in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution to fill this vacancy.

The nomination of Brigadier (Retired) P.P.J. Fernando for the vacancy created at the Office for Reparations was also discussed in the constitutional Council.
The attention of Constitutional Council was also drawn to the activities of the Election Commission and the Police Commission, the statement said.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress