The Ten Outstanding Young Persons awards 2011 program (TOYP)
Posted on September 10th, 2011


The Ten Outstanding Young Persons awards 2011 program (TOYP) concluded recently at the WatersEdge, Battaramulla. The Chief Guest at the event was the First Lady, Mrs. Shiranthi Rajapaksha.

The event awarded Ten Individuals in ten fields of service. The honorees of this year were

Mr. Roshan Hettiarachchi for Business Accomplishment

Mr. Harsha Fernando for Legal Administration

Mr. Srihan De Mel for Academic Accomplishment

Mr. Yasarath Kamalsiri for Contribution to Media

Mr. Eassuwaren Subramanniam                for Environmental Leadership

Rev. Bro. Pubudu Rajapakse for Contribution to Children

Mr. Thushara Dias Dahanayake for Voluntary Service

Dr. Ruwan Illeperuma for Scientific Development

Dr. Neelika Malavige for Medical Research

Mr. Yasas Vishuddhi Abeywickrama for Personal Improvement and Accomplishment

The TOYP program is organized by the Junior Chamber International Sri Lanka. The JCI Sri Lanka initiated the TOYP program from 1980. The TOYP has recognized individuals for exemplary performance in 10 chosen fields over the past 30 years who today are some of the famous names in the Country and worldwide. This is JCI Sri Lanka’s tribute to the leaders of tomorrow, the life blood of the Nations development.

Yasas Vishuddhi Abeywickrama won the award in the category “Personal Improvement and Accomplishment”.  In this category, the past winners have been Mahela Jayawardena & Dr B. Balagobi (2010), Ajantha Mendis (2009), Kumar Sangakkara (2008) and Conrad Fancis & Kosala Dullewa (2007).

Yasas is one of the most recognised faces in the ICT (Information and Communication Technology) and BPO (Business Process Outsourcing) industry.  Yasas obtained his bachelor’s degree in computer science at the University of Colombo. He has worked in the USA, UK, Malaysia, Sri Lanka & Australia. Yasas obtained his Masters in Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Swinburne University in Melbourne.

Yasas is an ardent writer and presenter. Yasas currently writes a regular weekly column for The Island paper and also takes part weekly in a Small & Medium Enterprise supportive program on FM Derana.

He is the CEO of Lanka BPO Academy. On a voluntary basis, he serves as the Chairman of Yasasa Lanka Foundation as well as the Vice President of 99 Group of Ananda College.

One Response to “The Ten Outstanding Young Persons awards 2011 program (TOYP)”

  1. Fran Diaz Says:

    Excellent idea to present awards through TOYP for outstanding achievements. Can journalists tell us what work/ideas has been done/presented to merit these awards ?

    We wish our young people the very best in their quest for excellence in their chosen fields to serve the Nation.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress