Sri Lanka’s World Cup Final Fifteen Seems Somewhat Questionable Despite Looking Good For The Fray Overall !
Posted on January 7th, 2011

Top Spin By Sunny

Jan.8th. 2011-So was it a bit of eyewash in anticipation of official eyebrow raising likely to wane, that the initial squad for Sri Lankas World Cup included the names of Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas ~World Cup-winning veterans where the final World Cup squad of 15 players named on Friday by the national selection committee headed by Aravinda de Silva seems somewhat questionable overall and some notable performers left out in place of less deserving players who seems to have been given the nod on speculation rather than current form?

Perhaps the Chairman of Selectors Aravinda de Silva needs to be confronted on the issue although the wily competitor of his day would probably and more than likely shrug it off by saying ” Hey we picked the best fifteen!” but heaven forbid he’s wrong as there seem to be some notable omissions where together with his subordinates the man could well rue his choice albeit hopefully not !

 While there are eleven members who represented Sri Lanka in the one-day series in Australia recently, which resulted in a history making series win, somewhat curiously left-arm spinner Rangana Herath has been picked in place of offspinner Suraj Randiv whose brilliance, consistency and performance capability should have assured him a berth although there is the consideration about which of them would better pair off with Sri Lanka’s spin wizard Muttiah Muralidaran apart from Ajantha Mendis. Murali’s place in the side was never in jeopardy for obvious reasons but in the overall picture perhaps both deserving inclusion with Randive as the better option in the minds of many for sub-continent playing conditions and the acheivements of Herath notable in English conditions lately. There is also the inclusion of Chamara Silva who apart from being a brilliant fielder surely has no claim to pre empting young Chandimal who should have made the fifteen on form alone over the more experienced Silva who should consider himself lucky!.

 While Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaninda Vaas were in the provisional squad of 30, on current form alone it appeared to be Vaas who would make it to the final squad and Jayasuriya a speculative choice based on aging laurels where the call to exclude him by the cricket loving Sri Lankan public seems to have been loud enough for a response. However Vassy’s exclusion must raise a few eyebrows to put it mildly.

 True enough their express desire to want to play in another World Cup before announcing their retirements from international cricket probably has immense sentimental value but it does not deliver World Cups although in Vassy’s case he may have proved invaluable to the side with his current form in the UK, his consistency overall as well past experience and the less said about Sanath Jayasuriya the better as he simply did not merit selection beyond being a long shot, yet needs to be remembered as one of the heroes of Sri Lankan cricket still running a willing spirit, a fatigued frame and perhaps not in the best nick for the highest level of competiton and sadly not a front runner for selection whose true heroics date back to more than a decade for which he must be loved and respected..

 All this said, the Lankans still appear imposing as well as impressive with variety and flair in every department and must be considered potential cup winners where certain inclusions and notable exclusion should not have any great bearing on their capability to be world champions again!

 Kumar Sangakkara will lead the side with Mahela Jayawardene as his deputy. India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh host the 2011 World Cup, which will take place from February 19 to April 2.

Sri Lanka World Cup squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2019 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress