Posted on July 27th, 2009

The Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Sri Lanka has accepted the Chairmanship of the Group of Fifteen, a coalition of 18 developing countries established to develop what Member countries perceived as the considerable potential for greater and mutually beneficial cooperation among developing countries, especially in the areas of investment, trade and technology.

Sri Lanka was invited by her predecessor, the Islamic Republic of Iran, to take over the helm at a critical time in the global economic and financial environment. As the Chair of the G15, Sri Lanka will continue to strengthen this forum of developing countries, both as a vehicle for South-South cooperation as well as to become as envisaged a logical dialogue partner of the G8 to promote and address the concerns and challenges of the South in their development goals.

Sri Lanka’s offer to take over the Chairmanship was formally conveyed by H.E. Mr. Alireza Moaiyeri, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Iran to the UNO, Geneva, who extended the appreciation of his government to the Sri Lankan government and his own personal gratitude to H.E. Dr. Dayan Jayatilleka, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka in Geneva, for the welcome offer to serve as the next Chair of the G15.

As a founder Member of the G15 initially established at a Summit Level Group of Developing Countries in September 1989, following the conclusion of the Ninth Non-Aligned Summit Meeting in Belgrade, Sri Lanka has been active in the work of the Group at all levels.

ƒÆ’-¡ƒ”š‚ The Group was conceived as a small cohesive body of developing countries, whose composition was fairly representative of the diverse levels of economic development and interests of all developing countries. Members were considered as having which was fairly representative and having sufficient economic and political weight and countervailing power, to meet on a regular basis at the highest level and make authoritative pronouncements reflecting their common standpoint on the major developments in the world economy and international economic relations.

The current Members of the G15 are Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

Apart from the objective of voicing the concerns of its Members in the global arena, the G15 was also mandated to take up projects which could bring direct benefits to the peoples of the member States, which could help in enhancing the credibility of the Group, inspire confidence among its member States, and thereby strengthen its unity and cohesion.

By acting as a catalyst for greater South-South cooperation, the G-15 aims at facilitating national efforts for development and economic progress. This cooperation is also expected to lend greater cohesion and credibility to developing countries in their efforts to pursue a more positive and productive North-South dialogue. As such, it is envisaged that the G-15 will both serve as a forum for regular consultations among developing countries with a view to coordinating policies and action of South countries at the global level, and assist in the formulation and implementation of programmes of cooperation.

Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka to the United Nations


27 July 2009

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2023 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress