Twenty-Six MPs sign no confidence motion against Bathiudeen
Posted on May 14th, 2019

Courtesy Adaderana

Twenty-six parliamentarians have added their signatures to a no-confidence motion against Minister of Industry & Commerce, Resettlement of Protracted Displaced Persons, Co-operative Development and Vocational Training & Skills Development Rishad Bathiudeen.

However, a final decision on the motion will be taken by the Joint Opposition at their group meeting scheduled to be held tomorrow (15).

MP Athuraliye Rathana Thero stated that a no-confidence motion would be brought against Minister Bathiudeen and the Chief Prelates of the Malwathu-Asgiri chapters were informed with this regard yesterday (13).

Accordingly, 26 MPs have signed the relevant no-confidence motion and the first signee is MP Dullas Alahapperuma.

Rathana Thero has signed at the 7th on the motion while MP S. B. Dissanayake, who represents the group of 16 of the SLFP, had also signed the motion.

When Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) General Secretary was inquired of his stance on the motion, he stated that neither he nor the SLFP has been officially informed of the matter.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress