Chairpersons & director boards of state institutions asked to resign
Posted on November 29th, 2019

Courtesy Adaderana

All ministerial secretaries have been directed to call on current Chairpersons and the Boards of Directors of State institutions to tender their resignations.

Secretary to the President Dr. P.B. Jayasundara has addressed a letter to all ministerial secretaries to request the relevant resignations in consultation with their respective ministers, the Prime Minister’s Office said today (29).

The ministerial secretaries were further instructed to take interim measures for the daily conduct of affairs of these organizations until new appointments are made for these top positions.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa yesterday (28) appointed a six-member committee to recommend qualified professionals for the topmost positions in State enterprises, government-owned companies and statutory agencies.

In keeping with the pledge in his election manifesto to create profitable state enterprises, President Rajapaksa appointed this committee to evaluate nominations and recommend the appointment of competent personnel to the boards of Public Sector institutes.

Mr. Sumith Abeysinghe, former Secretary of the Cabinet of Ministers and senior State official with extensive experience in the public sector, will chair this committee.

Former Chairman of John Keells Holdings Plc. Susantha Ratnayake, former Securities and Exchange Commission Chairman Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, Hela Clothing Chairman Dian Gomes, Neurosurgeon Dr. Prasanna Gunasena and Senior Lecturer Jagath Wellawatte have been appointed as committee members.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress