20A vote: Clause on dual citizenship passed
Posted on October 22nd, 2020

Courtesy Adaderana

Clause 17 of the draft bill of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution, which calls for removing the barrier on dual citizenship was passed in the Parliament with a majority of 93 votes a short while ago.

Out of the 213 Members of Parliament who were present at the parliamentary sitting, 157 had voted in favour while 64 voted against it. The remaining MPs opted out of voting.

During the Committee Stage Discussions, Chief Opposition Whip MP Lakshman Kiriella sought a vote in this regard.

Several MPs of Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) including Faizal Cassim, H.M.M. Harees, Aravindh Kumar, M.S. Thowfeek, A.A.S.M. Raheem, Diana Gamage also voted in favour of the relevant clause.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2023 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress