President declares open three MTLs in Kuliyapitiya area
Posted on October 12th, 2014

By Janaka Alahapperuma

Mahindodaya Technological Laboratories (MLTs) built at three schools in the Kuliyapitiya Educational Zone in North Western Province (Wayamba) were vested in the students under the patronage of President Mahinda Rajapaksa on Friday, 10 September.

The President declared open the MLTs in Kuliyapitiya Kanadulla Dharmaraja Maha Vidyalaya, Baragedera Anagarika Dharmapala Maha Vidyalaya and Bingiriya Sri Saranankara National School respectively. The President was warmly welcomed on arrival by the students, teachers and parents of the schools. After vesting in the laboratories with the students, the President made an inspection tour while looking in to their educational activities. The President also exchanged views with students, teachers and parents at schools.

The President said in Kuliyapitiya that the government is taking measures to upgrade and further improving the education in the country under a proper future plan. This plan is committed to provide benefits of education that is once limited to urban areas to the students in rural areas as well. Addressing those gatherings the President also explained the steps have taken by the government for the future of the students. As a result of this many students from village schools obtain distinctive results in major examinations. The President said that when the present government took over in 2005, the IT literacy was three percent. He emphasised that at present the IT literacy rate is well over 50 percent and further said that he wanted to make it 75 percent soon. The President said only thing that cannot be stolen is education. Therefore he requested the students to become fruitful citizens in the country by obtaining a sound education with the facilities provided by the government.

The programme to build 1000 Mahindodaya Technical Laboratories, is being implemented successfully island wide in order to increase IT literacy and language skills among students. Each laboratory is comprised with a computer lab with 40 computers, language lab with 20 computers, mathematic unit and distant education centre.

Senior Minister S.B. Nawinna, Ministers Bandula Gunawardena, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Johnston Fernando, Salinda Dissanayake and Jayaratne Herath, Parliamentarian Shantha Bandara and Wayamba Chief Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara were among those who joined the President on the occasion.

The residents of those areas who came to know about the President’s arrival in Kuliyapitiya gathered outside the schools. The President did not forget to exchange pleasantries with them.

One Response to “President declares open three MTLs in Kuliyapitiya area”

  1. Lorenzo Says:

    A very good move. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2024 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress