New platform for NE scribes formed
Posted on July 24th, 2016

Guwahati: With an aim for initiating professional excellence, raising voices for social-financial security to scribes and finally developing a comprehensive platform for the working journalists of northeast India, a new organization named North East Union of Working Journalists (NEUWJ) has been mooted.

A provisional committee was recently formed in a meeting held at Guwahati Press Club which decided to organize a convention in the city to formalize the process of its formation and start functioning after due expansion in the meeting.

The interim committee of NEUWJ was formed with senior journalist Joykanta Sarma as its President, Nava Thakuria as Working President, Rupam Barua & Pulin Kalita as Vice- Presidents, Manoj Agasti as General Secretary,  Rubee Barua Das & Namita Bora  as Assistant-Secretaries, Nayanjyoti Bhuyan (Assam), Pranab Sarkar (Tripura), Linda Chhakchhuak (Mizoram), David Laitphlang (Meghalaya), Sobhapati Samom (Manipur), Okenjeet Sandham (Nagaland), Kenter Joya Riba (Arunachal Pradesh), Bijoy Gurung (Sikkim)  as its Secretaries.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress