Patali Champika leaves JHU
Posted on December 12th, 2020

Courtesy Adaderana

General Secretary of Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU) MP Patali Champika Ranawaka has stepped down from his post and the party membership.

The parliamentarian’s media unit announced this in a statement published today (12).

In addition, several other representatives of the JHU have also left the party along with MP Ranawaka.

Commenting on his move during JHU’s Special National Convention held at the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute, MP Ranawaka said they decided to leave the party to establish a new social movement.

He also emphasized the need for a new social and national movement to guide the country’s youth.

Accordingly, former office bearers of JHU’s Central Working Committee MP Ranawaka, Karunaratne Paranavithana, Nishantha Sri Warnasinghe, Anuruddha Pradeep Karnasuriya and Nirosha Atukorale as well as committee members Thushara Swarnathilake, Dhanushka Ramanayake, Boseth Kalahepathirana, Theekshana Gammanpila, Tharindu Dileepa Gamage, Suranga Kariyawasam, Sunimal Janaranjana, Kingsley Perera, Gamini Nishantha, Thusitha Hewage and Local Government members have left the party.

Ven. Hedigalle Wimalasara Thera has been appointed has the new chairman of the party, while Bandula Chandrasekara and Daya Perera were selected as General Secretary and Vice-chairman, respectively. Attornye-at-Law Tudor Perera will serve as the Deputy Secretary. 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress