Easter attacks: AG directs probes into 5 suspects including Sara Jasmine
Posted on March 10th, 2021

Courtesy Adaderana

The Attorney General (AG) has directed the Inspector-General of Police to investigate five suspects whose names were disclosed by the report of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) which looked into the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

Accordingly, probes will be carried out into Abu Hind, Lukman Thalib, Lukman Thalib Ahmed alias Abu Abdulla, Rimzan and Mahendran Pulasthini alias Sara Jasmine who were named in the 17th chapter in the report.

In a statement issued today (March 10), AG’s Coordinating Officer State Counsel Nishara Jayaratne said a special team of 12 legal officers of the Attorney General’s Department has been assigned to study the recordings of evidence in the PCoI report.

The Attorney General, on March 08, has called on His Eminence Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith to brief him about the progress of the legal matters and investigations pertaining to the carnage.

During the meeting, the Attorney General has stressed the importance and the need to study all evidence recorded by the Presidential Commission during its proceedings.

Pointing out that the PCoI’s final report was focused on the individuals who failed to prevent the attacks, the Attorney General has noted that it is paramount to study all recordings of evidence as the report does not reveal concrete information about the real ‘masterminds’, conspirators and individuals who directly and indirectly aided and abetted the blasts, the coordinating officer said further.

She assured that all individuals who are accountable for the attacks will be brought to book.

In the meantime, investigations of the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) must be completed and all evidence recorded by the PCoI must be studied by the Attorney General before serving indictments against all those who were responsible for the dastardly act, State Counsel Jayaratne added.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress