Majority of Constitutional Council members decline to approve IGP extension
Posted on November 18th, 2023

Courtesy The Daily Mirror

COLOMBO (Daily Mirror) – The Constitutional Council (CC) appears to be divided, with the majority of members declining to approve the reappointment of Mr. C.D. Wickramaratne as the Inspector General of Police (IGP), Daily Mirror learns.

The government has failed to make a permanent appointment since March this year because of differences between President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Public Security Minister Tiran Alles on the next police officer to be picked for the post. 

Mr. Alles is insistent on the appointment of senior DIG (Deputy Inspector General) Deshabandu Tennakoon whereas the President is opposed to it.

It resulted in Mr. Wickramaratne being recalled for service after retirement. He has been given extensions for four times now. The latest extension for three weeks was given on November 3.

However, the CC was unable to reach a consensus yesterday to approve the extension granted by the President in his capacity as the appointing authority.

Daily Mirror learns that all three civil society members, backed by a few others, were opposed to the extension. As a result, the CC will meet today for the second time to decide finally on
the matter.

Also, there is a legal ambiguity as to whether the service extension granted by the President is valid without CC approval or not in terms of the Constitution.

The CC is a ten-member body. Its members are Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa, Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, MP Sagara Kariyawasam, Dr. Prathap Ramanujam, Dr. (Mrs) Dilkushi Anula Wijesundere, Dr. (Mrs) Dinesha Samararatne and MP Kabir Hasheem. One post still remains vacant.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2023 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress