Prime Minister graces 15th National War Heroes Day
Posted on May 19th, 2024

Ministry of Defence  – Media Centre

•        Nation pays gratitude to its war heroes remembering their sacrifices

Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena, the Prime Minister of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka paid a glowing tribute to war heroes of Tri-services, Police and Civil Security Department (CSD) on behalf of the Nation during the 15th National War Heroes Commemoration Ceremony held at the National War Hero Cenotaph at Sri Jayawardenepura in Kotte, today (May 19).

This national event is held every year, recalling the supreme sacrifices made by the brave war heroes to safeguard the freedom and territorial integrity of the motherland and usher in an era of peace and unity.

The unflagging courage and dignity of war heroes, who selflessly contributed to the success story and liberated the country from the clutches of terrorism that plagued our country for more than thirty years was venerated as all the attendees rose to feet when all disable and wheelchair borne War Heroes went past.

A total of 28,619 heroes from the Army, Air Force, Navy, Police and CSD sacrificed their lives for the freedom of the motherland, while over twenty seven thousand War Heroes were rendered disabled.

A moment of silence to remember the war heroes was observed at the beginning of the day’s proceedings and the Prime Minister laid floral tributes at the war memorial and paid respects to the war heroes during the ceremony held in keeping with military tradition. This was followed by other dignitaries making floral tributes.

The services of the war heroes who fought to defeat terrorism were lauded, while those present, including the families of the fallen war heroes remembered them with pride and gratitude.

The Ranaviru Seva Authority (RSA), the state agency entrusted with looking after the welfare of war heroes and war hero families had made elaborate arrangements to organize the ceremony.

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Speaker of the Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Admiral of the Fleet Wasantha Karannagoda, Marshal of the Air Force Roshan Goonetileke, Cabinet Ministers including Minister of Public Security Tiran Alas, State Ministers including State Minister of Defence Premita Bandara Tennakoon, Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Presidential Staff Sagala Ratnayake, Chief of Defence Staff, Tri – Forces Commanders, Inspector General of Police, CSD Director General and former Tri – Forces Commanders, Chairman of Ranaviru Seva Authority, war heroes and members of war hero families paid their respect to the fallen soldiers by laying flowers at the Memorial.

The nation enters into yet another year of peace, unity and renewed hope since the terrorist war ended on a day like today in May 2009. Let us all work together in unison and determination to make our motherland great.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2024 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress