PCoI report on Easter attacks handed over to Speaker
Posted on February 23rd, 2021

Courtesy Adaderana

The Presidential Secretariat has handed over the report of Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) on the Easter Sunday terror attacks to Speaker of Parliament Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene.

On the directive of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, the Director General (Legal) of the Presidential Secretariat, Mr. Hariguptha Rohanadheera handed over the Presidential Commission report on Easter Sunday attacks to the Speaker today.

The Secretary General of Parliament was also in attendance, the Communications Department said.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena then announced in Parliament that he has received the final report of the PCoI on Easter Sunday attacks and he will table it in Parliament as soon as he receives the copies.

The Speaker further said that he has sent the report to the Library of Parliament for the reference of Members.

The English version of the report and a translated copy in Sinhala were tabled at the meeting of Cabinet of Ministers yesterday.

The report is scheduled to be submitted to the Parliament today (February 23).

Reportedly, former high-ranking politicians and officials including ex-President Maithripala Sirisena, ex-Defence Secretary Hemasiri Fernando, ex-IGP Pujith Jayasundara, ex-SIS chief Nilantha Jayawardena, ex-Minister Rishad Bathiudeen and many others have been charged in the report. 

The Presidential Commission of Inquiry appointed to investigate the 2019 Easter Sunday terror attacks handed over its final report to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on February 01.

Hearings and other procedures of the Presidential Commission officially came to a conclusion on January 27, 2021.

The Commission was appointed by former President Maithripala Sirisena on September 22nd, 2019 to investigate the series of attacks that took place on Easter Sunday same year and to recommend necessary actions.

The commission had recorded evidence from a total of 440 individuals during its term.

The commission was chaired by Court of Appeal Judge, Janak de Silva and included Court of Appeal Judge, Nishshanka Bandula Karunarathna, Retired High Court Judges Nihal Sunil Rajapaksa and A.L. Bandula Kumara Atapattu, former Secretary of the Ministry of Justice, W.M.M.R. Adikari.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2021 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress