Gamini Marapana, PC, to head Port City Commission
Posted on May 31st, 2021

Courtesy The Daily News

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa yesterday appointed members to the Colombo Port City Economic Commission, consequent to the passage of the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill in Parliament by a two-thirds majority recently.

The Commission will be Chaired by Gamini Marapana PC and the other members of the Commission are: Secretary to the Treasury, S. R. Attygalle; Water Supply Ministry Secretary Dr. Priyath Bandu Wickrama; Former Board of Investment Chairman Saliya Wickramasuriya; Orel Corporation Chairman and Managing Director Kushan Kodituwakku; Mercantile Investment and Finance Managing Director Gerard Ondaatjie and McLarens Group Chairman and Managing Director Rohan De Silva.

The Government earlier said that many or all of the Commission Members would be Sri Lankan, assuaging fears that foreigners would be appointed to this body. The Commission will be responsible for all aspects of running the Port City, a world-class investment destination coming up right beside the Colombo Port. The Members would begin work shortly.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress