Speaker uses his decisive vote to end stalemate in appointing IGP
Posted on February 27th, 2024

By KELUM BANDARA Courtesy The Daily Mirror

Colombo, Feb 27 (Daily Mirror) – Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena is reported to have used his decisive vote as the chairman of the Constitutional Council (CC) to affirm the appointment of Mr. Deshabandu Tennakoon as the Inspector General of Police (IGP) permanently.

The other eight members of the CC were divided in a tie on the appointment. An informed source said four members voted for the appointment and two others against . Besides, two others abstained but their decisions were challenged. It was argued that any member should vote for or against rather than abstaining .

Also , abstentions in this instance were considered as votes cast against the appointment. Therefore the members were divided in a tie resulting in the Speaker using his vote in favour of the appointment .

The CC is a ten member body . Seven of them are from Parliament and three others from civil society . The Speaker , the Prime Minister and the Opposition Leader are its members by virtue of their office . Besides , there are three other MPs nominated by the President, the Prime Minister and the Opposition Leader . The tenth member representing the minor parties has not yet been appointed .

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2024 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress