UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka
Posted on July 21st, 2022

Courtesy Hiru News

UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in today (21) as the 8th Executive President of Sri Lanka.

This was at the Parliament complex.

Ranil Wickremesinghe is the first President of Sri Lanka to be elected in a vote held in the Parliament.

Former MP Sirima Bandaranaike, the world’s first Prime Minister, was sworn in on July 21, 1960.

Likewise, Ranil Wickramasinghe was first elected to Parliament on 21 July 1977.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2023 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress