4 MP’s ready to resign for Basil to enter Parliament (Video)
Posted on June 26th, 2021

Courtesy Hiru News

Internal sources stated that four national list MPs of the Sri Lanka People’s Front have agreed to give their seat to former Minister Basil Rajapaksa to enter Parliament.

It is reported that the Secretary of the People’s Front MP Sagara Kariyawasam, Jayantha Ketagoda, Marjan Faleel, as well as Prof. Ranjith Bandara, are among them.

However, in the internal discussions of the People’s Front, the highest attention has been paid to Prof. Ranjith Bandara.

This is due to the fact that a more specific methodology can be followed with regard to MP Ranjith Bandara in granting an alternative post to resign.

It is reported that he will be offered the post of Governor of the Central Bank.

According to internal government sources, former Minister Basil Rajapaksa will be sworn in as a Member of Parliament during the parliamentary week beginning on 6 July.

The immediate reason for the ruling party’s decision to give former minister Basil Rajapaksa an early parliamentary seat is an economic crisis in the country following the Corona crisis

Government sources further stated that the foreign investment problem that has arisen in the face of the COVID crisis is the promotion of the tourism industry as well as the implementation of a suitable proposal to rebuild the business.

It is stated that discussions are underway to give him the post of Finance Minister or a new Ministry called the Ministry of Economic Development.

Discussions are underway to hand over the BOI and the Urban Development Authority to Basil Rajapaksa, despite the ministry.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress