Police probing destruction of politicos’ property 
Posted on May 10th, 2022

BY Dinitha Rathnayake  Courtesy Aruna

The Police have commenced investigations in connection with the damage to a number of homes and other properties owned by former Ministers, incumbent Government MPs, and Local Government (LG) members, following attacks that also led to acts of arson by protestors on Monday (9) and yesterday (10).

The attacks followed in the wake of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Government supporters attacking peaceful protestors at the protest sites in MainaGoGama” in Kollupitiya and GotaGoGama” in Galle Face on Monday. 

Speaking to The Morning, Senior Deputy Inspector General (SDIG) of Police Ajith Rohana said that investigations would be processed by the relevant police stations where the incidents have been reported.

Accordingly, former Prime Minister and incumbent MP Mahinda Rajapaksa’s Carlton house in Weeraketiya and the Medamulana Walawwa”, as well as properties connected to the Rajapaksa family such as the D.A. Rajapaksa Museum and memorials were attacked and destroyed on Monday and yesterday. 

Further, the properties of Ministers, including Cabinet and State Ministers, such as Vidura Wickramanayaka, Shehan Semasinghe (his residence), Rohitha Abeygunawardena (his office in Kalutara), Johnston Fernando (his offices in Kurunegala and Lillie Street, Colombo), Nimal Lanza (his residence in Negombo), Dr. Bandula Gunawardena (his residence in Nugegoda), Dr. Ramesh Pathirana (his residence in Galle), Arundika Fernando (his residence in Wennappuwa), Prof. Channa Jayasumana (his residence in Anuradhapura), and Prasanna Ranatunga (his residence in Udugampola), were set on fire. 

Properties of former Deputy Speaker and incumbent MPs Wimal Weerawansa (his residence), Ranjith Siyambalapitiya (residence), Duminda Dissanayake (residence), S.M. Chandrasena (residence), Kapila Athukorala (residence), Sahan Pradeep Withana (residence in Kadawatha), Siripala Gamlath (residence in Polonnaruwa), K. Gunawardena (residence in Meerigama), Tissa Kutti Arachchi (residence in Bandarawela), Chinthaka Mayadunne (residence and office in Puttalam), Anuradha Jayaratne (office in Gampola), Gunapala Rathnasekara (residence in Kurunegala), Santha Nishantha (residence), Anupa Pasqual (residence in Mathugama), and Akila Saliya Ellawala (residence in Balangoda) also came under attack. 

Further, the properties of Moratuwa Mayor Saman Lal Fernando (residence), the Chairman of the Attanagalla Pradeshiya Sabha (PS) (residence), the Chairman of the Kotikawatte-Mulleriyawa PS (residence), the Chairman of the Walallawita PS (residence), the Chairman of the Elpitiya PS (residence), and the Horana Mayor (residence) were also among those that came under attack.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 LankaWeb.com. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress