Nine more cabinet ministers sworn in
Posted on May 20th, 2022

Courtesy Adaderana

Nine more Members of Parliament were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers this morning, the President’s Media Division says.

They took oaths before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo this morning.

The newly-appointed ministers are as follows:

1. Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Ports, Shipping and Aviation

2. Susil Premajayanth – Minister of Education

3. Keheliya Rambukwella – Minister of Health

4. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe – Minister of Justice, Prison Affairs and Constitutional Reforms

5. Harin Fernando – Minister of Tourism and Lands

6. Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Plantation Industry

7. Manusha Nanayakkara – Minister of Labour and Foreign Employment

8. Nalin Fernando – Minister of Trade, Commerce and Food Security

9. Tiran Alles – Minister of Public Security

Four other parliamentarians were appointed to Cabinet ministerial portfolios on the 14th of May. They are;

• Prof. G.L. Peiris – Minister of Foreign Affairs

• Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government

• Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Urban Development and Housing

• Kanchana Wijesekara – Minister of Power and Energy

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, who addressed the parliament yesterday, said a decision was taken that the new ministers would not be drawing their ministerial salaries once appointed.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.



Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved. Powered by Wordpress